Press Release

April 10, 2024 For Immediate Release 

MVC Cliff Brees Winter Sportsmanship Award 



Mississippi Division - Dubuque Senior 

Valley Division - Cedar Rapids Kennedy 

These winners reflect results of sportsmanship ballots summarized by all varsity athletic officials for the sports of girls basketball, boys basketball and wrestling during the recently completed winter athletic season. Winners were announced at the Semi-Annual Administrator meeting hosted by Cedar Rapids Washington on Wednesday, April 10, 2024. The trophies will be presented to the winning schools. 

The accompanying sheet with this announcement reflects previous winners in the fall, winter and spring/summer sports. Dubuque Senior won  the winter sportsmanship award for the first time in the 34 year history of the award.  They are the winners of the Mississippi Division.  Cedar Rapids Kennedy is a three-peat winner in the Valley Division and has won the award four out of the last five years.   

On behalf of the Principals and Athletic Administrators, thank you in advance for your publicity on this extremely important award for the Mississippi Valley Conference.

Further information, if needed, can be obtained through Commissioner Paul James at

History of the Award